Books, smells, castles and dead kings

A couple of weeks ago I attended the 2017 conference of the Romantic Novelists’ Association which was held at Harper Adams University, originally an agricultural college. The first thing you realise as you arrive by taxi is that there are pigs somewhere near! The Resident Engineer comes from farming folk and I loved everything about Harper Adams, including the fact that my sinuses have never been so thoroughly healthily scoured! The food – grown and raised on the farm – was absolutely delicious.

We weren’t there just to eat however and the talks I attended were varied and interesting, from a discussion on where the publishing industry is heading, to writing a screenplay (illustrated with shots of David Tennant in Broadchurch – not a hardship, that), to several talks on how to cope with Social Media. Something I’m pretty useless at and Must Try Harder. (Pic above, by John Jackson, shows the opening talk with me, bottom right, making notes.) And a photo of David Tennant – and why not?

A highlight was meeting up with fellow authors from my new publisher, Crooked Cat Books. Here: John Jackson, Sue Barnard, me looking scruffy, and Lynn Forth. (Another of John’s photos)The last talk, on the Sunday afternoon, was me talking about changing from writing romantic comedy to writing cosy mysteries. The audience laughed in the right places, made notes, and clapped at the end – result! and that was it for another conference. Always good fun and well worth attending.

The Resident Engineer picked me up and we set off for Ludlow which is where we saw the castle in the title of this post:And on the way home we dropped in to say hello to my favourite dead king of all – and here he is:

2 thoughts on “Books, smells, castles and dead kings

  1. I have just discovered your blog and loved it. We share many common interests such as Richard Third and Ludlow, which I haven’t visited for a few lifetimes! Last year we enjoyed a long weekend in Winchester, which I also loved (lot of loving going on here 😀 !)
    A fascinating idea to base your books there, I shall look forward to reading them. Best wishes.

Add a Comment

