Whoops!

The Art of Murder had only been out for a couple of weeks, and I was gearing up to do more promotion, when I managed to fall off a patio and end up in hospital for ten days with concussion and an emergency hip replacement (of what had been a perfectly good hip!) people-on-crutches-clipart-walking-crutches-vector-yh9hzq-clipart

(That’s a free clip art picture – it says! hope that’s right)

Scroll forward a couple of weeks and I’m coming along, walking – mostly with crutches but sometimes without (if there’s someone nearby for reassurance). The bang on the head seems ok and the hospital let me out after daily ‘obs’ so they were happy. It’s just slowly, slowly, from now on for a couple of months.

While in hospital I had family and friends a bit worried because not only was I refusing chocolate (!) but I couldn’t be bothered to read. Both serious symptoms in my case. What I didn’t realise was that the concussion was playing tricks and yes, the hospital food wasn’t brilliant, but it probably wasn’t dowsed in sugar as I insisted it was. Not sure how that explains turning my nose up at chocolate though!

After a week I began to think I might feel like reading and felt a slight tingle – bit like Matthew in Downton Abbey when he realised his paralysis wasn’t permanent. My tingle led me to reread The Little Women Letters by Gabrielle Donnelley which was as lovely as I remembered. After that I reread the final Discworld novel, The Shepherd’s Crown, and now I’m pottering happily along, rereading old friends, though not tackling anything new.

I need to get back to promoting The Art of Murder soon and will be looking for any blogger who loves English cosy mysteries and who might like to read mine – set in Winchester and with lots of history and a few messy, murderous bits!

The paperback will be the next excitement and then I hope I’ll be back to normal.

If anyone reads Harriet Quigley’s third adventure and fancies putting a review up on Amazon, that would be lovely – but I really just hope people will enjoy it.  Had some nice reviews so far, including this short and sweet one: If you love a good murder mystery with an Agatha Christie feel, you’ll love this book.’the-art-of-murder

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Art-Murder-Harriet-Quigley-Mystery-ebook/dp/B01LZ4I4PB?ie=UTF8&psc=1

 

 

Add a Comment

