A bit of welcome praise and an afternoon pretending I was Harriet Vane let loose in Oxford.

Time I remembered I’ve got a blog, particularly as I’ve received a real boost to the ego in the shape of a spot in a new book, ‘How to Write Crime by Sarah Williams, published by Constable Robinson. Unusually, Sarah tackles the How To… rather differently from other books on the subject. What she does is divide the book into chapters, each dealing with a particular type of crime novel: the cosy, the consulting detective, hard-boiled crime, and so on. Each chapter then takes one novel by a particular author and discusses how it is written and why it works.

So far so good, but what is it to do with me? Because Sarah Williams has chose‘Murder Fortissimo’, my first Harriet Quigley contemporary mystery as the model for The Cosy Mystery chapter, that’s why! I’m extremely flattered and slightly stunned to see that I somehow did the right thing when I wrote it, even though I had no idea I was doing it, and what reduced me to tears was this:

‘Before looking in detail at the passage from Nicola Slade, perhaps one of the foremost contemporary practitioners of the form…’

Now, I should probably be exhorting people to buy Sarah’s book, and I do and I thank her very much for her kind words, but even more urgently, I’d like to encourage people to buy my book! (available from Amazon et al)

MFcoverfinal_originalAs for the trip to Oxford, this was with my Deadly Dames hat on. Last June I did a talk at Abingdon library which was well-attended and which I really enjoyed. Chatting to the librarian, Lynne Moores, I happened to mention that I was a member of a discussion panel, the Deadly Dames, composed of mystery writers and that we were, as our standard joke has it, available for Weddings, Funerals and Bar Mitzvahs. Lynne told the organisers of the Bookcrossing Convention about us and we were delighted to receive an invitation to perform at St Hilda’s College on Saturday, 11th April. We were very glad to welcome again our adopted Dame, Peter Tickler, whose crime novels are set in Oxford and he was introduced as a Chevalier. (Find out about Bookcrossing – http://www.bookcrossing.com/)
We had a large and enthusiastic audience and enjoyed ourselves immensely – and hope to be invited again sometime, particularly as their conferences are international ones. We’ll travel…

DeadlyDamesOxfordApril2015

Here we are, doing our Deadly Thing: L to R Charlie Cochrane, Peter Tickler, Carol Westron, Eileen Robertson and me (for once looking slightly less fierce than usual)

As for Harriet Vane – well, Dorothy L Sayers was actually at Somerville, rather than St Hilda’s, but it was good enough and I secretly pretended I was at Shrewsbury College, and that Lord Peter Wimsey would turn up any time soon.

Add a Comment

