Shh! Idle writer actually doing some Work!

Yup, not a lot going on in the Blog department for a week or so because I’m actually tied to my office chair and doing some work! Being a Real Proper Writer doing proper writing work, not flicking around the internet, not playing Solitaire and not chatting on Face Book. (Oh, all right, I’m doing a bit of that…)

What I’m actually doing is going through the copy-edits for A Crowded Coffin which, according to publisher Robert Hale Ltd, will be out at the end of January 2013. I’m used to getting a bundle of manuscript decorated with red ink but this time technology has reared its head and I’m confronted with a screenful of stuff instead. (And yes, I know most writers these days do this, but it’s still a first for me!)

I’m also revising the 3rd Victorian mystery, featuring Charlotte Richmond – this one’s called The Dead Queen’s Garden.

Anyway, the publisher wanted the cover blurb for the new book so this is what I sent. Hope you like it:

A CROWDED COFFIN: It’s late summer in Hampshire and former headmistress, Harriet Quigley, is enjoying life. Her cousin Sam is moving next-door and the only cloud on the horizon is village gossip about a man who disappeared months earlier, along with a more recent near-fatal accident. Suddenly it’s all going pear-shaped – and sensible, practical Harriet has only herself to blame.

Sam has warned her not to play at being Miss Marple, but despite her cousin’s strictures, Harriet is suspicious about several newcomers and she’s been asking discreet questions. There’s an enigmatic artis; a good-looking vicar; a handsome Texan; a millionaire orchid-fancier; and Elvis the plumber. To cap it all, someone’s seen the family ghost and only her young cousin Edith takes Harriet’s anxieties seriously.

With a sudden death in Winchester Cathedral; a treasure hunt that attracts unwelcome attention; and history that looms uncomfortably close, Harriet finds herself trapped somewhere very nasty – and she’s not alone.

5 thoughts on “Shh! Idle writer actually doing some Work!

  1. Sound Great! Glad to know you’re being a proper writer…. And there was me thinking you just played at being one LoL. By the way, have you read my short Story which is now posted up on the ‘You’re Booked’ Site run by Harrogate Crime Writers and Readers site. Only when you have time out from your busy day, Nicola. Best wishes with your book.

    • I’ve read it Paula! It’s amazing, so atmospheric. I’m so thrilled it came first, you deserve it after all your hard work. Remember those classes you went to? Where the teacher was useless – where has the time gone! xxx

      • Thank you so much. I know I wish I could see the look on their faces now. Egg comes to mind. I hope to have the same success as you my dear friend. It would be lovely to be able to meet up again soon. My very best wishes to you, Nicola.

Add a Comment

